Results

Lawrence Simmons mail: google@onlyforyounotfor.me | web: lawrence.onlyforyounotfor.me | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 14:24:54 +0000
How Default Settings Rule The World
They might not seem like much, but defaults (and their designers) hold immense power – they make decisions for us that we're not even aware of making.
Harold Richardson mail: harold.richardson@horse-d.eu | web: harold.horse-d.eu | when: Thu, 28 Jul 2016 11:33:25 +0000
Why Do Our Apps Treat Us Like Children?
Apps like Seamless and Yelp listen in on our adult lives, then speak to us like children.
Philip Reynolds mail: philip.reynolds@hockeymail.de | web: philip.hockeymail.de | when: Thu, 28 Jul 2016 11:33:25 +0000
The Plodding 3-Year Process To Redesign The FDA’s Nutrition Label
Research has shown that the old Nutrition Facts label is "relatively ineffective" compared with simpler labels at encouraging people to make healthy choices. Why didn't the FDA release a more radical redesign?
Brandon James mail: brandon.james@onlyforyounotfor.me | web: brandon.onlyforyounotfor.me | when: Thu, 28 Jul 2016 11:33:25 +0000
Celebrities Spend Millions To Look Good. You Deserve The Same
When an A-lister has a big role coming up, they don’t mess around. They call in expert trainers and nutritionists and get to work. Kenzai thinks everyone should have the chance to train like a celebrity, minus the price tag. They’re running a flash sale on their 90-day program for Digg users, so check it out.
Nicholas Gordon mail: nicholas.gordon@innovation-km.com | web: nicholas.innovation-km.com | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 14:41:07 +0000
We Are All Very Awkward About Sex
Though we admittedly have it better than those poor schmucks in the past who thought looking at a bare ankle could damn you for eternity, we are still very far away from sexual liberation.
Steve White mail: steve.white@geheime.club | web: steve.geheime.club | when: Thu, 28 Jul 2016 11:33:25 +0000
Credit Card Companies Are Blowing It With Chip Payments
On the frustrating indecision we're racked with every time we make a purchase.
Wayne Owens mail: wayne.owens@onlyforyounotfor.me | web: wayne.onlyforyounotfor.me | when: Thu, 28 Jul 2016 08:39:02 +0000
A Stunning Prediction Of Climate Science — And Basic Physics — May Now Be Coming True
A lot of people deny climate change. Not many, though, deny gravity.
Arthur Richardson mail: arthur.richardson@onlyforyounotfor.me | web: arthur.onlyforyounotfor.me | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 14:01:43 +0000
Moments Between Predator And Prey Are Captured Perfectly In This Animation
Enter our old friend slow-mo, the magical effect that automatically makes everything twice as cool.
Adam Garcia mail: adam.garcia@daftest.website | web: adam.daftest.website | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 20:20:22 +0000
The Human Toll Of Terror
The New York Times stopped the clock on two weeks in March when there were high-profile attacks that commanded headlines — and attacks in places where they have become almost routine. In that period, they counted 247 men, women and children cut down by Islamist extremists in mass killings carried out at soft targets in six countries.
Chad Martinez mail: chad.martinez@dwindlingscrabble.xyz | web: chad.dwindlingscrabble.xyz | when: Tue, 26 Jul 2016 15:37:10 +0000
Riding A Super Tall Bike In NYC Isn't The Best Way To Get Around, It's The Coolest
If you're going to ride no-handed through an intersection and into a construction zone, a big, tall bike is the coolest thing to be riding.
Nynke Van der louw mail: nvdlouw@yahoo.com | web: http://greatestcamps.nl/ | when: Thu, 28 Jul 2016 09:39:03 +0000
Russia Lifts The Ban On A 70-Year-Old Donald Duck Cartoon
The satirical angle of the film — which depicts Donald Duck as a Nazi — was initially overlooked by the courts.
Travis Parker mail: travis.parker@klarkzon.eu | web: travis.klarkzon.eu | when: Thu, 28 Jul 2016 06:33:03 +0000
Inside Tesla's Gigantic Gigafactory
Gigafactory is Tesla's $5 billion, 3,200-acre battery-manufacturing plant that has already begun production but will not be in full swing until about 2020. At that point, it will have the largest physical footprint of any building in the world.
Clarence Foster mail: clarence.foster@geheime.club | web: clarence.geheime.club | when: Thu, 28 Jul 2016 05:33:02 +0000
Colorado Hospitals Are Seeing A Spike In Visits From Children Who Have Ingested Their Parents’ Edibles
It’s not exactly “reefer madness” but the authors believe that the sudden spike in the number of kids accidentally ingesting their parent’s edibles can be attributed to legalization.
Harold Phillips mail: gmail@pulpfrictions.com | web: harold.pulpfrictions.com | when: Thu, 28 Jul 2016 04:33:02 +0000
The Rise Of Badminton In A Rio Favela
How an olympian got his start at a facility hand-built by his father.
Lawrence Jordan mail: lawrence.jordan@hockeymail.de | web: lawrence.hockeymail.de | when: Thu, 28 Jul 2016 02:33:03 +0000
WikiLeaks Has Officially Lost The Moral High Ground
In the last two weeks, the font of digital secrets has doxed millions of Turkish women, leaked the DNC emails which suggested the site was colluding with the Russian government, and fired off some seriously anti-Semitic tweets. It’s… weird.
Patrick Bryant mail: patrick.bryant@affablyhomonym.com | web: patrick.affablyhomonym.com | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 13:23:19 +0000
A Tour Of Guillermo Del Toro's Horror House, Where He Actually Lives
The spooky director's home is full of oddities, from silicone life-size statutes of literary giants to giant blaster guns. It's frickin' awesome.
Jeffery Patterson mail: jeffery.patterson@ventredi.eu | web: jeffery.ventredi.eu | when: Thu, 28 Jul 2016 11:33:25 +0000
Get 95% Off This Excel Mastery Bundle
Remember when you lied on your resume about being proficient in Excel? It’s time you actually become proficient in Excel. (We won’t tell your boss.)
Chad Gordon mail: chad.gordon@geheime.club | web: chad.geheime.club | when: Mon, 25 Jul 2016 18:44:34 +0000
Just The Good (And Bad) Stuff From The Democratic National Convention
After last week's crazy, Trump-tastic Republican Convention, Democrats hoped that this week's Democratic National Convention would be tame in comparison. Luckily for media hungry spectators, it looks like that won't be the case.
Shawn Rivera mail: google@hockeymail.de | web: shawn.hockeymail.de | when: Thu, 28 Jul 2016 01:00:04 +0000
The Libertarian Economic Theory That Might Be Secretly Driving 'Pokémon Go'
People come together with the game, but not through force — they find each other, go outside, and the spark of human interaction just shows itself. It adds something without creating limits.
Patrick Evans mail: patrick.evans@hockeymail.de | web: patrick.hockeymail.de | when: Thu, 28 Jul 2016 01:48:02 +0000
This Shocking Video Of Locked Up Teens Is Rocking Australia
In an investigative report by the Four Corners TV program, the unsettling conditions in Australian teen prisons are revealed.
Dennis Hughes mail: dennis.hughes@affablyhomonym.com | web: dennis.affablyhomonym.com | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 15:41:36 +0000
Trump: I Hope Russia Can Locate Hillary's Missing Emails
Donald Trump, apparently concerned that the Democratic convention is stealing the spotlight this week, held a press conference Wednesday morning and things got weird.
Anthony Warren mail: anthony.warren@onlyforyounotfor.me | web: anthony.onlyforyounotfor.me | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 23:27:03 +0000
What Justin Bieber’s New Male Fans Tell Us About The Modern Man
In their tempered devotion to Justin Bieber, his fan men expose a vacillating portrait of contemporary masculinity. They have an ambivalent relationship with Bieber’s latest incarnation — one that’s manly but contrite, angsty but staid, artsy but still a little douchey.
Bruce Mason mail: google@innovation-km.com | web: bruce.innovation-km.com | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 13:54:22 +0000
Take An Eerie Trip Below The Sea Ice In Antarctica
If you're brave enough (and can find your way out to McMurdo Station, Antarctica) you might be able to get yourself a quick tour under the ice.
Sean Ramos mail: sean.ramos@thedarkswans.com | web: sean.thedarkswans.com | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 15:13:04 +0000
This Homemade Water Wheel Generator Made Of Plastic Bottles Can Charge A Phone
Well, mostly bottles. The creator, Thomas Kim, also used a few disposable platters, a stepping motor and rectifier circuit.
Mark Richardson mail: mark.richardson@dwindlingscrabble.xyz | web: mark.dwindlingscrabble.xyz | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 21:51:03 +0000
Was That A Russian Spy, Or Am I Getting Paranoid?
If you plan on reporting from Russia, you should come prepared to be monitored by the government. Just ask reporters, dissidents and activists in the country, whose tales of surveillance and harassment range from "badly written spy novel" to terrifying.
Arthur Mitchell mail: arthur.mitchell@pulpfrictions.com | web: arthur.pulpfrictions.com | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 14:28:17 +0000
'Stranger Things' Side-By-Side With All The '70s And '80s Movies It References
The new hit Netflix series definitely a strong "ET" vibe going on, but that's not the only classic sci-fi/coming-of-age story it references.
Wayne Roberts mail: google@thedarkswans.com | web: wayne.thedarkswans.com | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 20:03:03 +0000
Seventeen’s Infamous 'Am I Emo?' Guide, 14 Years Later
Emo is having a moment right now, so obviously it’s time to dust off your archived August 2002 issue of Seventeen and re-read the teen fashion mag’s infamous, hilarious, and occasionally educational guide to the emo lifestyle.
Clarence Martin mail: clarence.martin@innovation-km.com | web: clarence.innovation-km.com | when: Tue, 26 Jul 2016 19:30:37 +0000
Gang Of Kissing Humpback Whales Surface Right Next To Man's Kayak
We've posted enough videos of whales to vouch that they are magnificent and friendly creatures.
Dennis Long mail: dennis.long@thedarkswans.com | web: dennis.thedarkswans.com | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 17:45:04 +0000
Elon Musk's 'Master Plan' Completely Ignores Cities
Elon Musk's self-described "Master Plan" seems to be a master plan that will increase shareholder value, not ease transportation.
Wayne Foster mail: wayne.foster@dwindlingscrabble.xyz | web: wayne.dwindlingscrabble.xyz | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 16:10:11 +0000
Facebook’s Really Big Plans For Virtual Reality
Facebook's $2 billion purchase of VR company Oculus left some scratching their heads. Bloomberg sat down with Mark Zuckerberg to figure out why.
Jeffery Martinez mail: jeffery.martinez@onlyforyounotfor.me | web: jeffery.onlyforyounotfor.me | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 14:45:21 +0000
The Moment A Suspension Bridge Collapses During A Massive Flood
Massive flooding and landslides struck Nepal this week, killing dozens. The flooding also eroded enough of the riverbank on the Tinau river that a suspension bridge collapsed into the river.
Lee James mail: lee.james@horse-d.eu | web: lee.horse-d.eu | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 19:18:02 +0000
Sorry, Cockroach Milk Might Be The Superfood Of The Future
Let me cut straight to the chase here: Yeah, there’s a cockroach that gives birth to live young, and, yes, it produces a “milk” that scientists want humans to drink.
Steve Cox mail: steve.cox@hockeymail.de | web: steve.hockeymail.de | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 16:57:03 +0000
What Is The Roundest Country?
Last week, we found out which country was the most rectangular (congrats, Egypt!). This week — which country is the most, uh, circular?
Harry Patterson mail: harry.patterson@horse-d.eu | web: harry.horse-d.eu | when: Tue, 26 Jul 2016 14:47:41 +0000
Everything You Should Know Before Going On A Road Trip
You know that road trip you’ve been talking about all summer? Now’s the time to go. And we’ve done all the legwork for you to make sure it’s awesome. Shotgun!
Sean Gordon mail: sean.gordon@onlyforyounotfor.me | web: sean.onlyforyounotfor.me | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 14:08:25 +0000
This Map Of Marijuana Use Is Wholly Unsurprising
There are some interesting insights to be gleaned from this map how many people smoke regularly in different areas, but the fact that northern California and Colorado lead the way is not one of them.
Allen Harrison mail: allen.harrison@affablyhomonym.com | web: allen.affablyhomonym.com | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 16:10:11 +0000
Darude Admits He's Never Actually Been In A Sandstorm
Darude, real name Ville Virtanen, was asked in a Reddit AMA today about his authority on the meteorological phenomena and whether he had experienced one during his 41 years of untz-untz-untz-making on Earth.
Chris Reynolds mail: chris.reynolds@pulpfrictions.com | web: chris.pulpfrictions.com | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 15:25:14 +0000
The Trailer For M Night Shyamalan's Upcoming Movie 'Split' Is Surpisingly Terrifying
A good trailer by no means equals a good movie, but this really did give us the heebie jeebies.
Alfred Mcdonald mail: alfred.mcdonald@horse-d.eu | web: alfred.horse-d.eu | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 13:15:45 +0000
John Hinckley, Who Tried To Kill Reagan, Wins His Freedom
Thirty-five years after he tried to kill a president, John Hinckley has won his freedom.
Roy Kennedy mail: roy.kennedy@klarkzon.eu | web: roy.klarkzon.eu | when: Tue, 26 Jul 2016 23:35:41 +0000
Welcome To Your Coworking Future
In the future according to coworking companies, we won't just be working at our offices — we'll be living there.
Jacob Long mail: jacob.long@horse-d.eu | web: jacob.horse-d.eu | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 14:08:25 +0000
Charges Against Three Remaining Officers Dropped In Freddie Gray Case
The decision was announced at the start of a pretrial motions hearing for Officer Garrett Miller, who was the next scheduled officer to stand trial.
more